Archive for March, 2009

Redirected pages

Tuesday, March 17th, 2009

I was checking the cache of one of my websites and the https:// version of the website was totally different from the http:// version.

When I checked in hosting forums, they said it could be a shared SSL certificate for the website which is creating a problem.

Packet sniffers

Tuesday, March 17th, 2009

I have always felt that my email has been intercepted for some time. Many times, when I reply to an email, the email I receive is written in junk English (unlike the original sender) . There are some emails which never reach me, could be the spam filter or something else.

Hardware failure

Monday, March 16th, 2009

I use 2 main registrars for domain registration.  The registrars are fairly big and their infrastructure is reliable.  Still in a span of less than 10 days,  both the registrars experienced a major hardware failure. The problem seems to be similar, it was a critical piece of equipment, and all the data was lost and had to be restored from backups.

Registrar 1 (smaller) took more than 2 days to become functional and even then the data was not properly restored.  A lot of it had to be manually modified.

Registrar B  had good systems in place and the data was restored quickly, with no loss of data.

Change in desktop screen

Sunday, March 8th, 2009

Everytime  I use one of my PCs the desktop colour  changes automatically.  It changes to a bright blue colour, the default Windows setting.  I think there is a problem with the ISP connection. When I use the PC for a long time, this problem is more frequent.

Suspect No. 2

Friday, March 6th, 2009

The Project Honey Pot system has detected behavior from the IP address 87.11.

42.252 that is consistent with that of a Mail Server.
Domain ID:D104586875-LROR
Domain Name:PROJECTHONEYPOT.ORG
Created On:01-Jul-2004 03:41:45 UTC
Last Updated On:10-Jun-2008 21:31:27 UTC
Expiration Date:01-Jul-2009 03:41:45 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:GoDaddy.com, Inc. (R91-LROR)
Status:CLIENT DELETE PROHIBITED
Status:CLIENT RENEW PROHIBITED
Status:CLIENT TRANSFER PROHIBITED
Status:CLIENT UPDATE PROHIBITED
Registrant ID:GODA-046409226
Registrant Name:Domain Manager
Registrant Organization:Unspam Technologies, Inc.
Registrant Street1:P.O. Box 57265
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:Murray
Registrant State/Province:Utah
Registrant Postal Code:84157
Registrant Country:US
Registrant Phone:+0.4356159205
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email:uti_dom@eric.unspam.com
Admin ID:GODA-246409226
Admin Name:Domain Manager
Admin Organization:Unspam Technologies, Inc.
Admin Street1:P.O. Box 57265
Admin Street2:
Admin Street3:
Admin City:Murray
Admin State/Province:Utah
Admin Postal Code:84157
Admin Country:US
Admin Phone:+0.4356159205
Admin Phone Ext.:
Admin FAX:
Admin FAX Ext.:
Admin Email:uti_dom@eric.unspam.com
Tech ID:GODA-146409226
Tech Name:Domain Manager
Tech Organization:Unspam Technologies, Inc.
Tech Street1:P.O. Box 57265
Tech Street2:
Tech Street3:
Tech City:Murray
Tech State/Province:Utah
Tech Postal Code:84157
Tech Country:US
Tech Phone:+0.4356159205
Tech Phone Ext.:
Tech FAX:
Tech FAX Ext.:
Tech Email:uti_dom@eric.unspam.com
Name Server:DNS1.NETTICA.COM
Name Server:DNS2.NETTICA.COM
Name Server:DNS3.NETTICA.COM
Name Server:DNS4.NETTICA.COM
Name Server:DNS5.NETTICA.COM

Whois.is blocked?

Friday, March 6th, 2009

I do a lot of research on domains using whois.is . But for the last few days, whois.is has been blocked. When I try to access it, I get a blank page. I wonder whether the problem is at the ISP level or web hosting of whois.is.
Whois.is is owned by Name.com

Fake email, web hosting

Friday, March 6th, 2009

OrderId OrderDescription Sub-resellers Cost (In USD)


Addition of Email Hosting (US) Service for gamescheatss.com for 12 months, with plan Super 64.55


Addition of Linux Hosting (US) Service for gamescheatss.com for 12 months, with Extreme 129.23

Total Cost = 193.78

This is a very typical fake sign up for web hosting and email hosting. They are just wasting their time, I am very good at detecting scammers like them.

Domain detective

Friday, March 6th, 2009

Some times domain names tell their own story.   I know some people have been closely tracking the domains I register.  Using the  Whois and IP address  I found out more about these people.

Seems venturemarketing.com is spending a lot of time tracking me.  I wonder why?